Farmer’s Market Dinner

August 22, 2008 at 6:03 am 1 comment


Serendipity. One of my favorite words. Just saying it makes me happy, the way it rolls off the tongue. And when it actually happens in my life? Well, that’s a big bonus.

Yesterday, I grabbed a bag of arugula at the farmer’s market on a last-minute impulse. Later, at home, I visited a blog I hadn’t gone to in a while. While I was distressed to read all that’s gone on for Jennifer – and got waaaay too caught up in reading about the apparent scoundrel who stole one of her pictures – I also read back a few months in her posts.

And she made me want salad for dinner. And homemade vinaigrette. And I had great ingredients in the house. Wow.

I searched and searched her site for a recipe for even one of the vinaigrettes she mentions making, and she mentions vinaigrettes a lot. But, alas, it wasn’t meant to be. Couldn’t find a one. So, in spite of the fact that I am always disappointed in vinaigrette recipes (too mustardy, too much garlic, too oily, too sweet, too sour, never just right), I googled basic vinaigrette. And I found it. The perfect-for-me vinaigrette.

I really, really should have known. It was a Julia Child recipe. I should have started there years ago. Because it’s perfectly balanced. But I changed it a bit, to be more perfectly balanced for me. Of course. So here’s what I made, what I ate on my perfectly serendipitous salad last night, and what I ate again tonight. I’m sure I will make it a thousand times, and tweak it each time, and that’s the beauty of a basic vinaigrette. Thank you, Julia.

Basic Vinaigrette Dressing
adapted from Julia’s Kitchen Wisdom, by Julia Child

1 clove minced roasted garlic
1/2 tablespoon Dijon mustard
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice
1 1/2 tablespoon champagne vinegar
1/3 cup really good olive oil
1 tsp minced fresh thyme
1 tsp minced fresh basil
Freshly ground pepper

Shake all ingredients together in a glass jar (no oil added-in-a-slow-stream and whisking forever for me!), taste, and adjust seasonings so that it becomes perfect for you.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Tomato Season! Crushed

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  August 31, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    “Perfect for me” – what a wonderful way to celebrate what is unique about you! I honor your courage to create what is perfect for you. Yay!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Pages